Christmas at Kew Gardens

You may or may not have noticed but I love exploring London (and it’s surrounding areas) for all the weird and wonderful things it has to offer – I think because I grew up in such a small town that offered just a Leisure Centre and 3 cafes as it’s measly form of entertainment – I’m trying to make the most of everything whilst I can!

After spending the day wandering around Shere village with my friend Rosie (I will share a post on  this soon) we booked to visit the Christmas trail  at Kew last Saturday. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but I had seen lots of Instagram worthy pictures in Time Out in  the previous weeks (yes, I am that sad).

The evening was a cold one (despite living in the UK for 17 years I’ve still not learnt to dress appropriately for the weather) so if you go, make sure to wrap up warm. I’m not sure if it was because it was the weekend or that it was outside of London but there were lots of kids, families and grandparents which was cute.

You enter the trail through two giant illuminated Christmas trees, and it takes about an hour to walk around the mile long trail. There is a pit stop half way through of carousels, hot dog stands and a cute Christmas shop. The whole trail is lit up with 60,000 lights, with my favourite features being the singing Christmas trees, the Hive (pictured) and the light show against the greenhouse at the end. If you are going with kids there are two festive panto’s along the way that children can get involved in too.

It’s definitely worth a visit if you fancy doing something a little different and want to get into the Christmas spirit. Don’t forget to take your camera – this location is perfect for long exposure shots!

It’s pretty easy to reach, you can either park inside, park nearby or get the tube to Kew Gardens Station (District Line) or a train to Kew Bridge station which are both just a short walk from the gardens.

To find out more and buy tickets here: http://christmasatkew.seetickets.com/content/entry-selection

kew-gardens-2kew-gardens-3

Posted by

I'm a 27 year old single girl in London, blogging about my dating adventures, London culture and my adventures around the world.

11 thoughts on “Christmas at Kew Gardens

Leave a comment